Oh Baby, It’s Cupcake Time Again!

If you’re new to my Lovely Scribbles blog, you may be wondering, “Huh, cupcake time again?”  Well, you see, this is my first cupcake blog here.  However, if you follow my personal blog, you may have seen my last great cupcake adventure: the Pacman cupcakes I did for a friend’s 80’s themed 30th birthday party.

From time to time, I’m asked by friends to make cupcakes for special occasions.  I usually don’t bother to take pictures, but since my cupcake displays have taken on a nature of their own, I thought I would share them with you.  Afterall, I have so much fun designing and baking them, that I thought you may enjoy sharing in the adventure with me!

I made these special cupcakes for a good friend’s baby shower yesterday.  She doesn’t know what she’s having, and I was told that the shower colors would be yellow, green, and pink, so I went with a baby rattle theme in those colors.  I was also told that the mommy-to-be specifically requested carrot cake cupcakes with raisins and coconut, but NO nuts, so I needed to alter the recipe just slightly.

Now, it’s not that I hate raisins, but I find that whenever I bite into any baked goods with raisins, I just sort of think, “Oh…raisins,” followed by a slight feeling of disappointment.  I don’t know why – maybe I’m strictly a craisins or chocolate chip kind of girl – but I anticipated a few others feeling the same.  So with that thought in mind, I finely chopped the raisins to soften the punch.  The recipe I used for these incredible cupcakes is from the fabulous Smitten Kitchen.

I must say, that I was really pleased with the outcome.  The cupcakes were completely delicious and a big hit at the shower – thank you Smitten Kitchen!

However, I knew I would be short on time this week, so I ordered these adorable tulip baking cups and these royal icing carrots from Layer Cake Shop to add the perfect touch.  Thank goodness I didn’t need to create my own icing for the little carrots because this project was one mad dash to the finish!

2:00 p.m. Friday afternoon – office closes early…begin crafting cupcakes toppers

6:45-11:00 p.m. Friday night – babysit for a neighbor

11:15 p.m. Friday night – go grocery shopping

5:00 a.m. Saturday morning – take dogs for a walk

5:15 a.m. Saturday morning – begin grating carrots by hand

5:30 – 9:00 a.m. Saturday morning – finish baking cupcakes and crafting cupcake toppers

9:10 a.m. Saturday morning – shower

9:30 a.m. Saturday morning – load car and drive to 10:00 a.m. baby shower

1:00 p.m.  Saturday afternoon….SLEEP…ah, so nice to sleep.

Nikki

Leave a Reply

