A Lovely Place Setting

Hosting dinner parties are my favorite!  It always gives me the chance to try new ideas and really just put forth the effort to make my guests feel extra special.  This particular dinner party took place at my home back in March and was for a group of “young married gals” to kick off a Bible study series on this book (which is an excellent book by the way):

It was a wonderful and relaxing night with friends, talking over a Mexican cuisine of chicken enchiladas, rice, homemade salsa and chips, fresh fruit and a cute, little chocolate cake from Wuollet’s Bakery in Minneapolis that my friend Annie brought to celebrate the night before my 28th birthday.

I started off with the place settings you see above: a beautiful bouquet of fresh flowers (I love the daisies!) with linen napkins and placemats from Crate and Barrel (I bought them a few years ago, so I’m not sure if they have them anymore).  The candles, candle holders, and these super cool martini glasses are from Crate and Barrel as well.

I absolutely adore these martini glasses because of their versatility.  Mine were a wedding gift from my in-laws, and I have used them several times sans alcohol to add the perfect touch to table settings from bridal showers to dinner parties.  I like to put shimmery, marbles in the base and distilled water (to keep from getting water marks on the glass) in the cup.  Then I will put a floating candle in the water.  In this case, I cut fresh daisy heads to float in the water.  Pretty, don’t you think?

I also used my favorite, rose colored wine glasses (a wedding gift from my mom) for water and sparkling apple cidar.  Then to add a fun element and extra drink option, I bought “old school”, miniature Coca Cola bottles, which I have to admit, just made me smile as I placed them on the table.  A simple but cute touch.

And how could I forget the adorable “silverware napkin holders”, a Christmas gift from my amazing mom a few years back.

In all truthfulness, I should let you in on a little secret…much of what I know about hostessing and crafting, I have learned from my mom (hence, all the references to her).  Although, we have different tastes, and each have a style all our own, she definitely has been an inspiration to me.  My mom has always, as long as I can remember, set the most lovely table settings.  Every holiday and family gathering is truly a masterpiece when she is behind the wheel.  As for me…well, I’m just finding my stride.

I hope you see some fun new ideas to throw in the mix at your next dinner party.  So long for now!

Nikki

Leave a Reply

