Holiday Treats

In the past, I’ve hosted cookie exchanges around the holidays, which is always a wonderful time.  However, Christmas came way…….WAY too quickly this year.  It seems like if I blink, I just might miss the entire month of December, so…much to my dismay, I haven’t had the time to host this fun little party of mine.  BUT a girl still needs her treats to give away, so for the past couple of years, the stud and I have tackled making the goods all on our own.  It’s a ton of work, true enough, but we love taking old creations and coming up with something new by putting our own personal spin on it.  Not always worth the effort, but for family?  On Christmas?  Most definitely a “must”.

It’s no secret that I love to cook and bake, but have I mentioned that the hubs is quite the amateur chef?  No?  He really is, which is why we spend so much time together in the kitchen concocting whatever we’re in the mood for.  Whether it comes to cooking, crafting, designing or training for our next in-line skating race, we just like being together, and we like to make our projects fun and interesting.

So…I thought I might share with you all a little peek back on some of last week’s goodies that the hubs and I whipped up for the holidays…

Mint Orea Truffles and Chocolate Coconut Truffles…

Red Velvet Cake Balls inspired by Bakerella (we used a different recipe that I fell in love with awhile back)…

The “standard” pretzels covered in almond bark and dark chocolate, corn flake/almond flavored wreaths, chocolate peanut butter date balls with pecans (they taste far better than they sound), and Andes mint bark with almonds…

The ridiculous part is that even after sharing the goods with our families and friends, we still have so much leftover that we don’t know what to do with it all!  Come on over, friends; we love to share!

Nikki

Leave a Reply

