Placecard of the Week: Vintage Elegance


It’s been years since I’ve been to the old farmhouse.

I remember when I was a little girl and my grandparents had the coolest farmhouse out in the country near Duluth, Minnesota. My grandfather’s parents had lived there, and my grandparents later lived there for…oh, I don’t know, maybe 40 years. It was always a warm and inviting place to visit, and I have the most wonderful memories of my time there as a child.

My parents, my brothers, and I lived a good six hours away in southeastern Minnesota, so we only made the haul a couple times a year, but some things are forever etched in my memory…driving up the big hill at the end of our destination right before the farmhouse at the top of the hill came into view, the huge impeccable yard stretched out to the road overlooking the small lake, my grandma’s finely groomed flower beds and gardens, the long driveway that encircled the house and the entire farm, for that matter, the crooked, leafless tree near the entrance of the house with swings made of rope and wood dangling from it’s bizarre branches, the beautiful, traditional décor that my grandmother had so warmly created, the huge wood-burning fireplace, the rustic and delicious smells, the food…oh my, the amazing family meals, my grandfather at the head of the table, my grandmother at the other end of the table, bowing our heads in prayer, swimming in the lake, laughter…

It really was a wonderful place.

It’s been three years this month since my incredible and much adored grandfather passed away and over ten years since my grandparents sold their beloved farm and moved into a smaller new home down the road. It’s the natural progression of life, but the beautiful part is that we can take those memories with us. I often wish that they still lived in that farmhouse just so I could take my husband there and share that special piece of my childhood with him.

Now, we simply drive by the old farm, no longer the beautiful property that my grandparents cared for so diligently, but I will always keep those memories close to my heart. Oddly enough, this brings me to my Placecard of the Week: Vintage Elegance because it reminds me of the powder room in my grandparents’ basement in that old farmhouse. The wallpaper was black and white with a newspaper/women’s magazine type pattern with Mary Poppins-type black boots (you know, the vintage pointy black books with the buttons down the side) on it – God only knows why I remember that, and somehow the placecard I created this week reminds me of that wallpaper, which reminds me of the farm, which reminds me of my grandparents, which reminds me of a grandfather I miss terribly, which reminds me of how thankful I am to have a wonderful grandmother still with me today…and so today, I am reminded of a blessed childhood, and for that I am thankful.

Nikki

Leave a Reply

