Placecard of the Week: Paisley Punch

So…I have a thing for paisley.  You may recall another paisley placecard I created back here.  The truth is I just really dig this funky and eclectic pattern for being so wonderfully fantastic…which compelled me to do a little ol’ Wikipedia search on random fun paisley facts, and here’s what I discovered:

Paisley or Paisley pattern is a droplet-shaped vegetable motif of Indian and Persian origin, similar to half of the Yin yang symbol. The pattern is sometimes called “Persian pickles” by American traditionalists, especially quiltmakers,[1] or “Welsh pears” in Welsh textiles as far back as 1888.

Resembling a large comma or twisted teardrop, the kidney-shaped paisley is Indian and Persian in origin, but its western name derives from the town of Paisley, in central Scotland.

Imports from the East India Company in the first half of the 17th century made paisley and other Indian patterns popular, and the Company was unable to import enough to meet the demand. It was popular in the European Baltic states between 1700 and 1800 and was thought to be used as a protective charm to ward off evil demons. However, in modern culture, the youth of these countries have used it as a symbol of rebellion. 

Protective charm or rebellion…hmm, how does a girl decide?  For all you smarty pants out there who already had the deets on the paisley factor, please forgive the extra details.  For the rest of us average folks, don’t you feel smarter already?  Yep.  Me, too!  For even more random paisley facts, you can finish scoping the goods over at Wikipedia.  I’m sure there’s far better information elsewhere in the worldwide web-o-sphere, but I thought this was a good place to start.

Perhaps, I will dig up some fun paisley interior designs to share with you all.  You know, I think I will.  If you come across any beautiful, charming, and lovely paisley rooms that you think I might like, please email me at lovelyscribbles@gmail.com.  I love your feedback!  I would also love to see all the different ways this fabulous pattern dating back to the 17th century still impacts interior design today.  Pssst….I even have paisley pillows on my couch, which you can see over here.

AND…finally, I bring you this week’s Placecard of the Week: Paisley Punch.  I really had fun making this pretty little thing, and I concluded that it would be most fitting at a tea party or bridal shower, due to the detail.  Where would you use this cute, little placecard?  Have a blessed week, pretties!

Nikki

Leave a Reply

