Chandelier Makeover

It’s finally done!

Thanks to my husband the hero, this baby is installed and in working order.  Yahoo!!

But before we all head straight for the goods, allow me to share a little bit on the comedy of errors that brought us to this beauty.  You’ll recall how it all started over at last week’s Excuse #2.  Well, here’s the scoop…so, I bought this brass, early 90’s-type chandelier for $15 off Craigslist as I previously mentioned.  Of course, since stupid situations have a way of landing in my lap, let me paint the broad picture for you all.

So…I headed out a couple weeks ago to pick up the chandy.  Well, it was freezing rain that morning, and as I approached this big, beautiful house with a long up-hill driveway, I noticed that it appeared to be covered in a sheet of ice.  Turns out, in fact, it was covered in a sheet of ice, so I tried to give my car a little oomph or a running start, so to speak.  Keep in mind the owners of the house are expecting me and watching out the window this entire time.  Anyhoo, I did my best to make it up the long up-hill driveway, and I almost did it.  Almost.  I got about half-way up the driveway, and then my car ever-so-slowly slid right back down to the bottom of the driveway.  Of course, I wasn’t embarrassed.  Nope, not in the slightest.  Really, I wasn’t.  At all.  Uh-huh.  Anyhoo, by the time I made it back up the driveway to about half-way, I pulled up the emergency break as fast as possible (so my car only slid back a little this time), and I got out of the car only to discover my feet slipping and sliding around.  I must of looked ridiculous, but I should’ve known this was a bad start to my “brilliant” idea.  So, the owner’s came running out to help me.  You see how this was going already?

Then, of course, as you know from Excuse #2, spray paint doesn’t stick all that well to brass, so I gave it a solid 567,855 coats of spray paint or something thereabout.  Next, the stud ever-so-sweetly went to install it only to discover the electrical stuff in the celing didn’t match the electrical stuff in the new chandy, and THEN, I got the, “No more projects, Nik” speech, which was about the time I started laughing at the entire debacle!  Okay, so now that you have the full picture, let’s get down to the nuts and bolts of the chandy itself.

So, here is your standard “comes with the house” light fixture that we replaced.  Not bad, but definitely not for me… (Half dangling from the ceiling – I snapped this photo as the stud was taking it down)

Here is the new (but old) chandy is in all her brassy glory…If you can’t find a used one on Craigslist or garage sale (or you don’t want to go through the fiasco I went though), you can find fairly good deals on one on sites such as Amazon. This Williamsburg 8-Light Chandelier sells for around 60 dollars. This will give you peace of mind that the fixture will actually work. I bought a second chandelier on Craigslist only to find out only 6 of the 8 lights were in working order.

Did you know that on your average package of Q-tips they list a multitude of purposes for thee Q-tip itself. (Ahh, I see you don’t have as much time on your hands as me).  Funny they didn’t mention this…it worked wonders on this dusty little thing…

Next, I removed the white covers off the light holders, covered them in baggies and twisty-ties to get ready to paint.

Next, I hung the chandy from hooks in the ceiling of my garage. (Excuse the “crap-ola” in my garage).  In case you’re wondering, yes, the spray paint did get everywhere.  I spray painted my shoes, my husband’s shoes (sorry, honey!), and a few other items in storage.  I was a woman aimlessly on a mission!

I bought the 10 mini, black lampshades at Hancock Fabric on sale for $3 a piece.  If you want to add a splash of color, I also like these Pink Dupioni Mini Lamp Shades.The new electrical light kit from Lowes only cost about $3, so all in all, I spent a total of $48, and oh-my, did I get a bang for my buck!  Wouldn’t you agree?

P.S. Did you notice my new blog layout?  More about that tomorrow.  Yahoo!!

Leave a Reply

