In The Ordinary

Image Source

By all appearances, today seems like another ordinary day. There are no signs to suggest otherwise as the monotony of another day’s work wears on, yet is it possible that there could be something I’m not seeing in a day like today? Is it possible that I’ve somehow overlooked an opportunity to reach out to someone in need or to take hold of a hidden abundance that lies in wait for me to grasp onto?

I understand that not everyday is going to be a mountaintop experience. However, I do believe that there is more to living out today than just going on about our business, failing to open ourselves up to the possibility of the miraculous occurring in our lives, ignoring the needs of those placed in our paths. I believe there is a point that God brings us to where, in many ways, we have nothing to lose…a point where we have been stripped down to our core, no longer shrinking back into our own personal oblivion, where there is no place to go but up or forward or out…to boldly proclaim His promises and believe that He WILL carry them through, and in doing so, we open ourselves up to being used by God to bless the lives of others. We’re no longer near-sighted looking to our own interests because we’ve suddenly opened our eyes and our hearts to the interests of others and to a Greater Purpose.

I find myself thankful, praising God for all that He’s carried me through and the challenges that I have overcome through Jesus Christ. When I place the “good” and the “bad” of my life on the scales, I find that the measurement lies not in what is good or bad in my life, but rather in my successes, in battles won, victories claimed and losses counted towards my gain. Did you notice I mentioned “losses” being turned into gains? Yes, it’s true, losses and pain will come, but we have a choice to either dwell on those losses or allow Christ to step in and do what only He can do – take the heartache and pain and transform it into something beautiful…into our gain. I’ll be the first to tell you that I fail constantly – I’m a risk taker, so it’s to be expected, but equal to my failures are my victories.  I get back up again each time fighting, persevering, and ultimately achieving.

For me, each victory comes at the cost of bruised knees, a bowed head and a tightened grip on the Word of God, which requires intense dedication and self-discipline and the working hand of a powerful God, yet to choose any other option, to turn my back on God, is to leave myself hanging on by a thread that may break at any moment before I even reach my final goal. Yes, the alternative, which carries much ease and lacks all methods of perseverance, may get us by…but in no way could one call it a victory. What do you see in the ordinary?

 As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the Lord is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him. For who is God save the Lord? or who is a rock save our God? It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect. Thou hast also given me the shield of thy salvation: and thy right hand hath holden me up, and thy gentleness hath made me great. Psalm 18:30-32, 35 (KJV)

May you find something extraordinary in the ordinary today!

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

