Going Into Battle

There is an open window in your house. Outside awaits a thief, watching and waiting for the opportune time, that moment when you close your eyes and say good-bye to another day. The moment you slip away into silence, soon fast asleep.

You wake to find your peaceful home in a state of total disarray – treasured belongings are missing, personal drawers have been recklessly scavengered through, family photos have been destroyed. You are left robbed and exposed, feeling angry and hurt. The robber has slipped away, long gone by now, leaving you to pick up the pieces.

You wonder, “Why-oh-why didn’t I get that alarm system? Why did I leave my window open? I’m a good person – why did this happen to me? Do I have a target on my forehead or something?”

Yes, you do. Someone is after you. Someone is trying to destroy you.

But somehow you had forgotten. Life had become comfortable and well, just kind of easy. Somewhere along the way, you put down your defenses. You got wrapped up in the busyness of life, and you simply forgot.

The same thing happens every day in our faith journey. The pull to become comfortable and relaxed and apathetic, to put down our defenses and turn off our alarms slowly ebbs into our lives. With good times, we find a false sense of security. We feel as though all is well and, therefore, maybe we can put off our quiet time with the Lord for a more convenient time. It is when we loosen our grip on God that a very real enemy strikes his attack.

The Bible tells us, Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.” 1 Peter 5:8-9 (KJV)

So often in my life, I have forgotten to put on my armor and to set up my defenses, forgetting the truth that each day I wake, I am stepping into battle. In the day to day of life, I find myself settling into my own routines, but if I do not seek the God who sets all men free through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, whose blood shed on the cross has atoned for my sins (Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. – 1 John 4:10 KJV), and if I do not take up the weapons that He alone can give me, I leave “my window open”, inviting the enemy in to rob and destroy all that I hold most dear.

So I invite you to take up your armor with me….

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints. Ephesians 6:10-18 (KJV)

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

