One BIG Placecard Giveaway & Auction…Calligraphy For A Cause

Photobucket

Two and a half years ago, I went on a missions trip to China, and I think any time you step outside of your comfort zone to serve others, it has a powerful way of changing your life.  For me, I got to witness first hand the beautiful people of China, as well as the heart and passion of my team leaders Jon and Elissa Kuert to serve them.  At the time, Jon and Elissa were leading short-term missions trips to China, but it was a little over a year ago that they felt called to move to China permanently and serve full-time.  All I can say is…WOW.

So, today I want to introduce you to a powerful ministry that is changing lives and leading many of the women in Yunan Province, China out of the slavery of prostitution and horrors of the sex trafficking industry by leaving their former lives behind and building new lives for themselves through….creating beautiful jewelry to sell.  This amazing organization is called Eden Ministry.

So without further ado, I will let Elissa give you a little background on Eden, and then we can get down to the GIVEAWAY and AUCTION.  This is my biggest giveaway yet (with a twist), so I hope you have fun with it!

~Nikki

Photobucket

Elissa and the women of Eden

Photobucket

Elissa: When I think about making things beautiful, I believe it can happen in so many tangible, and intangible ways. Certainly my friend Nikki has created some of the most incredibly creative and gorgeous place settings, party tables and invitations I have ever seen – and I love them! And here in China, I’ve also begun to see God’s beauty emerge in the lives of the women I work with in a more intangible way. Nikki has allowed me to share about Eden Ministry, the organization who’s work I’ve fallen in love with enough to move to China and work for since 2009.

Eden Ministry seeks to bring hope to women trapped in the hopelessness of prostitution. Many women in our shelters have been trafficked, tricked and traded into the ugly and awful world of sexual abuse…but those of us who are committed to serving this ministry are allowed the awesome privilege to see many of them rise up out of those dark places, and become beautiful new creations in Christ, all the while leaving the life of prostitution behind and begin building new lives through designing and selling beautiful jewelry to those around the world. Xia Xia is one beautiful story:

Xia Xia thought she had the perfect boyfriend. He invited her to move to the city with him, telling her he had a great job lined up for her. She had dreams of being a good daughter and sending money home to her family in the village, so she went with him. As soon as they arrived, he sold her to traffickers who took her to another city and forced her into prostitution. After two years, she heard about Eden, escaped her owners and is now living in our shelter. God has done wonderful things in her life as she continues to blossom into a beautiful woman of God.

Creating Jewelry to Build New Lives Free of Prostitution

One big way we support our non-profit work, is by employing the women in our shelters to make jewelry that we sell in China, Europe, and the US. It’s exciting to watch them work peacefully and express their creativity in our jewelry designs. You can support these women, and contribute to their success by purchasing jewelry online at http://www.edenchina.org/, or hosting an Eden Evening of Hope. Funds from each purchase support our shelters, medical clinics and provide wages for the women in our shelter. Thanks so much for allowing me to share.

~Elissa Kuert

http://www.jonandliss.blogspot.com/

Photobucket

I know I announced yesterday that there will be 2 winners, but because I get a wee bit excited about giveaways, I decided, what the heck, why not make it 3 winners. Cool beans, right?

Because the purpose of this giveaway is to both bring awareness and raise funds for Jon and Elissa as they serve in China as well as Eden Ministry, I’ve tried to offer a little something for everyone. Here’s how it works…

GIVEAWAY – Freebies – Fun Stuff: There will be 2 winners for the giveaway. The first prize is 12 custom handmade placecards (I work with you to design placecards to fit your party/special occasion). The second prize will be a piece of jewelry designed by the women of Eden. To enter, you must do one (or more if you choose) of the following:

1.Visit the Eden website {here} and leave me a comment telling me which piece of jewelry you would like if you were to win.

2. Become a fan of Eden on Facebook {here}.

3. Visit Jon and Elissa Kuert’s blog {here} and make a donation to support them as they serve in China and leave me a comment telling me you’ve done so. Every little bit helps. Even $5 makes a difference. I will match up to $100 for all donations to the Kuert’s.

4. Do a blog post or Twitter about this giveaway.

5. Become a follower of my blog or follow me on facebook {here}.

Please leave a comment for each entry. Two winners will be chosen via random.org Friday, May 7, 2010.

AUCTION: This is where the fun begins! I will be giving away a Lovely Scribbles Party Package (I just made that name up…today) which will include up to 12 custom, handmade placecards, 12 cupcake toppers – see examples here, here and here, as well as 12 miscellaneous labels of your choosing (designed by me to fit your party/special occasion) for a total of up to 36 custom paper products. I am donating all resources for the auction. I will include an (optional) calligraphy inscription on the inside of each placecard with a brief explanation of the ministry these placecards are supporting. To enter, you must do the following:

1. Bid on the Lovely Scribbles Party Package by leaving me a new comment for each time you place a new bid with your bidding amount. ALL proceeds will be donated to Jon and Elissa Kuert’s ministry.

Bidding will begin at $1.00. The Party Package will go to the highest bidder, and the winner will be chosen when bidding ends.  Let the bidding begin!  Update: The current bid on the Party Package is $500!

Photobucket

Update – May 3, 2010: I will be taking a short break from blogging for the next few days to work on an exciting project I will be sharing with you all soon.  I will still be checking in from time to time to read all your wonderful comments and check in on the status of the auction.  I will return to blogging on Friday, May 7th to announce the winners.  Thanks, gang!

Leave a Reply

