Who’s On Your Team?

 My name is Nikki. I am 29 years old.

There is nothing extraordinary about me or what I do. I have no special talent that others have not already achieved before me. My heart still aches when I fail. My eyes still burn after a good cry. I still laugh really hard at lame jokes (much to my embarrassment). I probably blow my nose 20 notches too loud (much to my husband’s embarrassment), but

….there is something that sets me apart.

Sure, I am an individual masterfully created by the hand of God, my DNA is mine and mine alone, and I alone will have to stand before the Lord at the end of this life to account for myself, but that’s not what sets me apart.

What sets me apart is my team. It is those very people who I choose to surround myself with. The truth is that I am surrounded by amazing people. I have many friends, but my team, those who I am closest to and those who know by innermost thoughts and feelings, they are people who have been, without a doubt, Divinely brought into my life.

They are friends who I can call any time night or day and ask them to pray for me and I for them. They are friends who, although, we may not always agree, will stand up and fight for me and protect me and encourage me to live a life that honors the incredible God we serve. They are friends who refuse to let me compromise my values and my hopes and my dreams and the vital, life-giving personal relationship I have with Christ, and I equally refuse to let them live a life of any less.

I have chosen them carefully – or, perhaps, they have chosen me – or, perhaps, God knew that I desired a life that honors Him, and He knew I needed a strong team to keep me steady when the winds of life blow. I believe it’s a combination of all three.

You see, what I’ve learned and continue to learn is that I am only as strong as the people I surround myself by. God has called me to live a life of unity and in fellowship with others, and while I think we should embrace all people no matter what their struggles are and where they are in life and regardless of whether or not they share my faith, I also think it is important for those people who we let in to the very deepest parts of who we are be the kind of people who will love us and encourage us and build us up and fight for us and forgive us when we have wronged them – those who refuse to let us compromise the life we have been called to in Jesus Christ.

I have been blessed with those very friends – I wouldn’t even know where to begin to tell you of the ways that I have been blown away by the goodness and faithfulness of their friendship. I continue to be humbled by them daily. We have fought many battles together on our knees in prayer. We muddle through the challenges in life side by side. We have wounds unseen by the human eye that we continue to bandage for each other. We still drop everything…EVERYTHING…when we get “that phone call”, and for that alone, I am so incredibly thankful.

So, I ask you, “Who is on your team?”

Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up. Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 (KJV) 

Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend. Proverbs 27:17 (KJV)


Have a wonderful blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

