The Key Ingredient to Success: Waiting

If only I would have waited…

This wasn’t my finest hour, friends, and it humbles me to admit it.

You see, I wanted this…

BUT, I ended up with this…

 Good grief.

Let me take you back to the beginning, waaaaaaaay back to that time (Tuesday) when my hopes of mastering the macaron were still alive and well. It all started Tuesday night when I was supposed to set out the egg whites to bring them to room temperature for 24 hours prior to commencing this recipe. Well, I give myself an “A” for executing that well enough. Then, I had to mix together the almond flour, zest and powder sugar. Okay, check. Easy enough. Next, I need to whip up a nice meringue (strangely, I’ve never made meringue before), and yet I managed to do just swell there, too.

By this time, I was nearly convinced that I was a macaron-making machine. Boo-ya!

Nearly.

So, after mixing the meringue with the flour mixture, it was then time to pipe the circles onto the baking sheet. Since I didn’t have piping tip #807 or #808 as recommended, I figured I would use a spritz cookie pump/piping contraption-thingy that the Lord only knows why I have.

So I decided to improvise. Big deal, right? Well, the first couple of mixture circles came out all right, but then…THEN…the lid and tip popped right of my handy, little tool…and suddenly it happened…PLOP…a huge blob of misshaped mixture landed on my baking sheet. Uh, that would be failure number 1.

Next, comes failure number 2. You see, after waiting that ridiculous amount of time to bring the egg whites to room temperature, and after mixing the flour together, and after whipping the meringue, and after piping the mixture, there was one more step that needed to take place…I needed to wait – wait 30 minutes to an hour, to be exact, before actually baking those little babies. The funny thing is that I know I read it. I even recall reading it, but in my haste, I glazed right past this crucial step of preparation…waiting. In the end, rather that rising to the beautiful macarons that I was anticipating, I ended up with pathetic-looking, flat disks. Geesh!

I tried to hide the evidence of my disaster by quickly cleaning the kitchen, and I tossed the lemon “disks” in a baggy and threw them in the fridge. Five minutes later, my husband walked in the door, headed straight for the fridge and took one look at my creation and said, “Shmoody, what did you do?” (he creates goofy new nicknames for me by the hour) in that tone parents use when they discover marker all over the wall, and you have marker all over your hands and face, but give them the, “I have no idea what you’re talking about” look. Uh-uh, it was that tone, and I gave him that look.

He said, “What did you leave out?”

I responded, “Nothing, I didn’t leave out any ingredients. I skipped a step.”

And in his impressive wisdom, my husband said, “What? Were you supposed to wait?”

WOW. He hit the nail on the head.

Tis’ the story of my life…this thing called “waiting”. I know of its importance, and yet somehow, whether consciously or subconsciously, I always seem to be fighting against it. Sure, this may be a silly story about one of my many baking catastrophes, but when it comes to real life, waiting on the Lord is just as crucial to our success.

I’ve discovered over the years, that waiting is, in fact, the key ingredient to success, and it appears to be one of our heavenly Father’s choice tools for character building, perseverance, and overall success. It is when we take shortcuts or strive to avoid this process altogether to reach our goals in the quickest means possible, that we end up failing, which is almost always followed by discouragement and frustration, and I believe our loving and faithful Creator wants so much more for us than that.

As contrary to my nature as it is to wait, I’m discovering that waiting combined with prayer and a thankful heart before the Lord, not only has a powerful way of changing my attitude toward the goal in which I’m waiting on God for, but it also seems to make the time go by quicker and much less painful. The truth is that we will never know all of the things that God is doing while we wait on Him, but as we put our trust in Him during those challenging times, we can be assured that he is preparing something good and wonderful for us. I know because He’s made that promise, and in His infinite love for us, God through Jesus Christ alone is faithful to ALL His promises.

 And therefore will the Lord wait, that he may be gracious unto you, and therefore will he be exalted, that he may have mercy upon you: for the Lord is a God of judgment: blessed are all they that wait for him. Isaiah 30:18 (KJV)

Our soul waiteth for the Lord: he is our help and our shield. Psalm 33:20 (KJV)

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord. Psalm 27:14 (KJV)

Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life. Jude 1:21 (KJV)

O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. Psalm 34:8 (KJV)

My prayer for today is that you and I may both be reminded of not only the blessing of waiting on the Lord but also be reminded that waiting is vital to our success…whether it be in the kitchen or in life. Sure, we can take shortcuts, but the end result will always be less than the best, and that’s not what God desires for his children. He wants us to be our very best, and He never wastes a moment. When we put our trust in Him during the times of waiting, we can know without a doubt that victory will soon follow!

May you find blessing and peace today in your time of waiting.

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

