Cake Topper Bunting & Tres Leches Cake

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photos courtesy of Eat Drink Pretty

So, this past weekend was my sis-in-law Katie’s Mexican fiesta bachelorette party, and it was a fabulous affair as is everything Jenna of Eat Drink Pretty puts together.  I made this Tres Leches Cake for the party, which also makes my hubby oh-so-happy (he specifically requested it for his birthday this year).  I think he ate about a 1/4 of the leftover cake from this party in one sitting.  Gosh, I wish I had his metabolism!  Anyhoo, I made the cake a tad richer by swapping out the whipped cream frosting for a….what shall we say?? ….a heartier cream cheese frosting.  Then, I topped it off with a few maraschino cherries, as is the Mexican tradition.  Calories?  Eh, who’s counting?

Okay, so now to the cake bunting….I’m kind of a nut when I get an idea in my head, as most of you know by now.  Once the seed is planted, I just can’t get it out of my mind until I execute my vision.  That being said, the night before I made the cake I was surfing blogland, and I stumbled upon this ridiculously adorable cake topper bunting by Kiki La Ru, and BAM!  I was instantly inspired.

I knew Jenna had ordered some papel picado to hang from the tent, so I wanted to create some sort of papel picado itty-bitty bunting and put my own spin on my new found cake topper inspiration.  I literally couldn’t fall asleep that night, and I almost jumped out of bed at 3:00 a.m. just to start crafting it.  I didn’t, of course, because I couldn’t drag my butt out of bed, but I really, really wanted to.  I simply paper punched some colorful paper for the little flags, threaded them on a string and tied them to skewer sticks.  It was so easy that I think I could have made it in my sleep, well, maybe except for the needle and thread part – that might get dangerous!

I also made matching Mexican fiesta bunting place cards to match the cake topper for this week’s Place Card of the Week, so stay tuned.  I will share them with you tomorrow.  Yahoo!

Leave a Reply

