Pumpkin Whoopie Pies & Decorative Flags

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photo Credit: Jenna of  Eat Drink Pretty

This past weekend, we celebrated my mother-in-law’s birthday with a nice, relaxing family gathering.  (You may recall her birthday celebration at our house last year).  My husband and I were in charge of the dessert, and the love of my life decided on pumpkin whoopie pies for his mom’s birthday treat.  Perfect.

So…we baked a ridiculous amount of these little sweets…and…then…he decided that, while tasty and all, they weren’t quite the consistency and look he was going for, and since we each have our perfectionist tendencies, I just went with it (plus, he’s a pretty good baker, so I figured he knew what he was doing), and the following morning we woke up early and off to the grocery store we went for baking supplies for Round #2.

Our second batch of whoopie pies is what you see here.  We tweaked the recipe a pinch and were really happy with the finished product.  Of course, in our rush to hammer out another batch and make it out the door in time, I completely forgot my camera, but I did remember to string my new cake platter with orange ribbon for the pictures.  Geesh, I swear some days I’d lose my head if it wasn’t attached!  However, my sister-in-law Jenna of Eat Drink Pretty was kind enough to take these lovely photos.  These are the benefits of having an excellent blogger in the family.  Always prepared.  Thank you, Jenna!

So, when Ron had mentioned this dessert earlier in the week, I knew that I wanted to add a little something extra as a special treat for my mother-in-law, and I had already made up my mind on creating some sort of little flag for each whoopie pie.

Then, while we were contemplating re-doing the treats altogether late at night, it hit me that while we wanted our treats to be perfect, at the end of the day, it was that extra effort and the thought put into it that really said these treats were “Made With Love”.  As soon as that phrase popped into my mind, I ran upstairs and began designing the little flags to top off the whoopie pies.

They’re fairly simple, and I just sketched the design for the flag and scribbled the phrase across each one, but I think they really added a fun element to something my husband and I really enjoyed baking together for his mom.  I hope you like them, too. 🙂

Have a wonderful week, gang!

Leave a Reply

