Place Card of the Week: Coral & Kelly Green

Photobucket

I know that I said it may be awhile before I was back up and running with my Place Card of the Week due to the big move and all, but I thought I would sneak in one last project before Christmas. Tis’ the season, afterall!

Photobucket

I designed these labels as an alternative to place cards for a wedding reception dessert/candy buffet a couple of weeks ago. I created them so that ribbon could be attached to hang from platters and apothecary jars filled with candy, so I hope they worked perfectly for the sweet mother-in-law putting together this fabulous display.

Photobucket

I was told by sister-in-law Jenna of Eat Drink Pretty, who did some consulting on the dessert buffet design, that this client was looking for something both modern and yet whimsical with the colors coral and kelly green.  I knew I could put something cute together for her, so I was excited and ready to get to work!

BUT…

Photobucket

For the first time in, gosh, I don’t even no how long, I had this serious case of “crafter’s block”. It totally freaked me out, too! I don’t know about all of my other artist friends out there, but when your otherwise free-flowing creative juices come to a screeching halt out of nowhere, it’s not so great of a feeling. Like all of my projects, I wanted to create something truly lovely for this special occasion, so I just tried to have some sort of break-through…

It took some time.

Photobucket

I ended up going shopping (yay!) and bought some paper supplies and designed a few samples for this sweet gal to choose from, and yet I couldn’t get over this feeling that I was falling short in some way, and I couldn’t quite pinpoint the problem.

Photobucket

Well, I never did quite figure out why I felt zero creativity, but I pressed on and tried to tie together the elements that she was looking for, and I aimed to write out the labels in a fun candy shop sort of fashion (in my head it’s the equivalent of fun candy shop writing, anyway!), and you know what? I completely fell in love with the finished product. That’s right, what I feared would be a total disaster, turned out to be a project that I truly loved!

What’s the moral of the story here? Never give up, gang. Even if you feel like you have nothing to offer in any given moment. Keep trying, and you may just surprise yourself.  I know that I did!  Have a wonderful day and thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

