White Kitchen Love

With all of this house stuff somewhat slowing down – well, kind of – I’m hoping to find some more time to blog again.  I’ve missed my blogging friends so much!  Also, once I get everything unpacked, I hope to resume my Place Card of the Week posts. Perhaps, my sunroom will be part sitting room, part office for all of my crafty stuff.  We’ll see!

I promise to reveal our final kitchen makeover once the last few details are in place (countertops, tile backsplash, etc.).  I absolutely love the way our new kitchen has come together.  It really is a fantastic combination of my more traditional style and my husband’s contemporary style.  The rustic white cabinets with the espresso glaze are absolutely stunning, and the Asian Walnut hardwood floors are such a beautiful contrast against the cabinets.  We will put in a more contemporary glass tile backsplash, which I think will tie everything together really well.  I honestly couldn’t have been more pleased with the design.

In the meantime, I came across this gorgeous kitchen that I just had to share. If I were to go all gung-ho girly in my kitchen (which my husband would never allow!), I might come up with something just like this…

We did actually incorporate a couple of similar elements into our kitchen as is in this kitchen but with a twist…we do have a wall of glass, windowpaned cabinets as well as a “valance” design over our stove top somewhat along the lines of what you see here.  We also staggered the heighth and depth of our cabinets to add extra character.  One other thing I may or may not have mentioned is that we wanted a little extra contrast, so our island is an espresso color to contrast the white cabinets on the walls, similar to this look:

Images 1 & 2 via Daisy Pink Cupcake

Oh-oh, and those lanterns in the first kitchen are just so cool!  They add such a rustic and unique detail to the room that draws me right me in.  I spent my lunch hour yesterday window shopping specifically for lanterns for my sunroom.  If I can get one room all to myself to design, lanterns are definitely going in! I will also share with you our master bedroom makeover.  I haven’t really touched on it too much here, but we did make some significant changes.  First, we tore out a wall between two bedrooms to create one large master suite.  We also removed a patio door and replaced it with a nice window (my Valentine’s Day gift!), and finally we added a new set of French doors, which I just adore.  It’s an enormous room, but I hope to create a sitting area in the half of the room by the French doors.

Anyhooooooo, in the meantime, I hope you enjoy these lovely images and find some fun, new ideas for your own home makeover.  Have a wonderful day, gang!

Leave a Reply

