Five Years of Marriage

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who grew up praying for her future husband…

After years of love and growing pains, that little girl inside and that persevering young man discovered that love is not so much about feelings, although the feelings always remain.  Rather, it is a slow dying fire that simply takes a little breath of life to set it aflame all over again.

There isn’t a day that I don’t thank God for giving the love of my life and I that breath of new life that has time and time again ignited our powerful spark for one another.

And so…

Five years ago, that prayerful little girl said “I will” to that husband she had long dreamed of.

She said…

I will love him…

and cherish him…

in sickness…

and in health…

And in her heart she was telling him so much more…

She was telling him that she will love him when he doesn’t feel like loving her back, that she will encourage him when discouragement comes knocking at his door, that she will fight for him through constant prayer, and she will remind him that he is of great worth in both her eyes and in God’s sight through her actions and by her words.  She will strive to choose her words carefully that she may always build him up.

For the many times she may fail, she will strive a hundred-fold to love him all the more, for he has been chosen for her and her alone, and he is worthy of that kind of love.

To my handsome husband,

Through the mountaintops and valleys that we have been swept through since you first asked me to dance at that wedding over 11 years ago, I continue to be blessed, challenged and inspired by you.  You are my best friend on this earth, and a phenomenal father to our daughter.  You are now part of me, my love, and I am one blessed girl to call you mine.  Happy Anniversary! 

…And that little girl who grew up praying for her future husband, indeed, got the man of her dreams.

“None can believe how powerful prayer is, and what it is able to effect, but those who have learned it by experience.  It is a great matter when in extreme need to take hold on prayer. I know whenever I have prayed earnestly, that I have been amply heard, and have obtained more than I prayed for.  God indeed sometimes delayed, but at last He came.”  –Martin Luther

Leave a Reply

