Awake from your slumber!

storm-photography-marko-korosec-3

(Image Source)

And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed. The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light. Romans 13:11-12 (KJV)

We are living in the days of apostasy, beloved…or what the Bible calls the falling away of the Church. What are we to do?

noun apos·ta·sy \ə-ˈpäs-tə-sē\ plural apos·ta·sies Definition of APOSTASY According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary 1:  renunciation of a religious faith  2:  abandonment of a previous loyalty

You see, dear friends, pointing others to God’s Word and His truth during these last days of the Dispensation of Grace (Ephesians 3:2 KJV) is difficult because it often means being the “bearer of bad news” from the perspective of world events but such are the times we are living in. The clock is ticking, and time is short.

But greater is He that is in you than he that is in the world…and the despite all the bad news, the ultimate Good News remains…

Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world. 1 John 4:4 (KJV)

It is time to awake from your slumber, dear friends, you are now in the ultimate battle of light vs. darkness, but praise God, we know who wins the war!

Now we beseech you, brethren, by the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, and by our gathering together unto him, that ye be not soon shaken in mind, or be troubled, neither by spirit, nor by word, nor by letter as from us, as that the day of Christ is at hand. Let no man deceive you by any means: for that day shall not come, except there come a falling away first…. 2 Thessalonians 2:1-3 (KJV)

I struggle to find the words to explain the great heartache I feel as I watch the Christian Church slip away and fall into the clutches of the world.  I see brothers and sisters in Christ embracing a worldly system of beliefs at such an incredible break-neck speed, that I can hardly believe it.  It absolutely blows my mind.

The line between Christianity and non-Christianity is so blurry that if I’m being honest, in more cases that not, if I didn’t know certain people had accepted Jesus Christ as their Savior, I would never otherwise know it by their lifestyle.

You ask, “Who are YOU to tell me what I should do?”

To which I respond with: I am no one.  Do whatever you want. If you want to have a bad testimony and look like the world, have at it.  I have a past just like a next person, but you know what? I have been washed by the blood of Jesus.  My past is behind me, and all my sins – past, present and future – have been washed away.  I just want to get something done for Jesus with the time I have left and pointing others back to his Word, the King James Bible, and HIS TRUTH (not what I “think” I heard sometime, somewhere) is the course He’s given to me, blunders and all.  What’s the course He’s given to you??

Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool. Isaiah 1:18 (KJV)

As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12 (KJV)

If you think to yourself, “Who am I that the Lord could even possibly use me?” Go take a look at Hebrews 11 and the Hall of Famers of the Faith…look closely at the type of people God redeemed and used in extraordinary ways AFTER their greatest sins. Moses was a murderer.  David was an adulterer.  Rahab was a prostitute, and the list goes on and on.  Don’t think for a minute that you are too far fallen for God to use.

You see, we, as Christians, are to look very different from the rest of the world, and a quick biblical assessment will reveal to us where we line up…

Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them. Matthew 7:16-20 (KJV)

Here’s a quick look at what we’re dealing with in this generation…

Holiness…out the window.

Purity…out the window.

Modesty…out the window.  Speaking of modesty, ladies, if you want a good kick in the pants, I recommend reading this article over {HERE}.

The mixing of darkness with light…embraced in the name of “love” and “progress”.

Sin…justified, unconfessed and unrepented.

For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 3:23 (KJV)

“Alternative Lifestyles”…wholly embraced.  There is this great misconception out there that we know better than God when it comes to just about everything, but it is out of His great love for us, that he has designed us a certain way and has called us to certain moral laws (Romans 1).  It is not to punish us, but rather, it is to give us true liberty in Christ.  It is not for us to try to overcome by our own strength, but, rather, it is to surrender all to Him so that He may strengthen us to overcome the pull of the world.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

Further, to not call sin what it is in God’s sight, that is…SIN, is to deny someone salvation through Christ who has come to wash away our sin.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us. 1 John 1:9-10 (KJV)

He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy. Psalm 28:13 (KJV)

Do you not know how great is the goodness and mercy of God?  If not, then the great deceiver or the thief (Satan) has pulled the wool over your eyes.

Jesus said of himself, “For the Son of man is not come to destroy men’s lives, but to save them.” Luke 9:56 (KJV)

Jesus said, “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” John 10:10 (KJV)

Victory over strongholds…non-existent.

The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints, and what is the exceeding greatness of his power to us-ward who believe, according to the working of his mighty power. Ephesians 1:18-19 (KJV)

Beloved, we have been given the power through the blood of Jesus to pull down all strongholds!

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but MIGHTY through God to the pulling down of strong holds.  Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:4-5 (KJV)

Is not this the fast that I have chosen? to loose the bands of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, and to let the oppressed go free, and that ye break every yoke? Isaiah 58:6 (KJV)

God’s Word…unread, unknown and replaced with psychology, mytics, theories and all other manifestations of ungodliness.

The Church…utterly and despicably lukewarm.  Lord, help us!

The good news for those who are seeking personal revival in their own lives is that there are pockets of “individual” spiritual revival within the church where the Holy Spirit is pouring Himself out upon the saints of God…

But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel; And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams: And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my Spirit; and they shall prophesy. Acts 2:16-17 (KJV)

And, yet, it’s important that we recognize that those cases of individual revival are fighting against the wave of a much bigger beast…the much larger scale falling away of the Church as a whole.  We know that the last Church period before the Rapture is the lukewarm, apostate, Church of Laodicea (Rev. 3:14-22).  Open your eyes, beloved, we are living in the times of the Church of Laodicea.  It is the emergent, Godless church that we see rising up…the very church that no longer has the power of God.

Instead, they rely on their own power of programs and rock bands to get you nice and emotional.  They preach social issues (rather than the gospel of Christ), peddle books and perverted Bible versions and all the while asking for more and more money.

Clarence Larkin described it this way:

Satan seeing that he could not stamp out the Church by violence and persecution has changed his tactics and is now trying to seduce her into conformity to the world and to try to better an “Age” that God has doomed to destruction. His present purpose is to build up a “magnificent civilization,” and he has deceived the Church into believing that it can bring in the “Millenium,” without Christ, by the Betterment of Society.  His hope is that the “Gospel of Social Service” will take the place of the “Gospel of Grace,” and by diverting the attention of Christian people to “secondary” things, they will neglect the primary work of soul saving, and postpone the Return of the Lord, and his own confinement in the Bottomless Pit. –The Spirit World, pg. 20

But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction. And many shall follow their pernicious ways; by reason of whom the way of truth shall be evil spoken of.  And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not. 2 Peter 2:1-3 (KJV)

Back to the money part, I feel it’s important to note that I’m not saying don’t give.  Quite contrary, we should give to our local church, but not because our church is making us feel forced into giving, BUT, rather, we should give as the Lord has prospered us, and as we feel led to do so in our hearts.

Upon the first day of the week let every one of you lay by him in store, as God hath prospered him… 1 Corinthians 16:2 (KJV)

Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver. And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work. 2 Corinthians 9:7-8 (KJV)

The Apostle Paul said this:

What is my reward then? Verily that, when I preach the gospel, I may make the gospel of Christ without charge, that I abuse not my power in the gospel. For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more. 1 Corinthians 9:18-19 (KJV)

Again, the point is that we should support our local church, but we should give from the heart as we feel called to do and as the Lord has blessed us, not because Mr. Megachurch asks for more and more money every service so that they can build bigger, better, more technologically savvy buildings with all of the latest and greatest programs and “cool” Bibles studies.  That’s not what the Church should be about at all.  All of those things are a delusion that Satan is relishing in during our present day.  Don’t let him have that victory!

I don’t know why I got off on that.

Anyway, the apostate church also preaches a watered down gospel without holiness or hell or the kind of conviction that truly changes lives and breaks strongholds. Is it any wonder that Christians are floundering in their faith and the lost continue wandering in their blindness?

We, as a nation, need to repent and come back to God and give Him His rightful place as King of Kings and Lord of Lords!  We need to give Him all of the glory and honor and praise rather than blowing up our newsfeed with “selfies” and all things “me”.  What about Him?  Pssst…I’ve posted selfies here and there in the past, gang, so I’m barking right on up my own tree, too. What is it about the pull to focus on ourselves?  Good grief.

He must increase, but I must decrease. John 3:30 (KJV)

We are, indeed, living in the age of SELF LOVE. Yuck!

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away. 2 Timothy 3:1-5 (KJV)

Friends, if we continue on the path of constantly looking down, down, down at our own reflections, our phones, our Facebook and everything else under the sun, we’re going to miss the boat and miss out on the glorious call to lift up our heads and LOOK UP to our Saviour.  He is coming, beloved!

Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in. Who is this King of glory? The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle. Psalm 24:7-10 (KJV)

And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh. Luke 21:28 (KJV)

Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ. Titus 2:13 (KJV)

Be watchful, and strengthen the things which remain, that are ready to die: for I have not found thy works perfect before God. Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee. Revelation 3:2-4 (KJV)

So, I read an article a while back where the author said something to the effect of: whenever something is really popular from the world’s point of view, it is almost always against what God would have us to do.  In other words, we should RUN (flee!) in the opposite direction.  While that sounds like a bold statement, the Bible would agree…

Know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? Whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God. James 4:4 (KJV)

Take for example: Yoga.  I don’t mean to harp on yoga, but it’s SO prevalent that it makes for an easy target.  Here’s the thing with yoga…no matter how Christianized or Westernized America tries to make it, it is still 100% Hindu and it’s gods and it is still 100% tapping into demonic spirits.  This gal says “no thank you” to both.

There’s so much info on this topic of the dangers of Christians and non-believers alike doing yoga, but I think this video is a good place to start if you’re looking for some good info.

You say, “I do yoga, and I don’t get any weird vibes or whatever.”  Okay, go for it, but just know that if some spiritual attacks or otherwise enter into your life, it may be because you’ve opened that door, and you will find that you will need to recover yourself from that snare of the devil.

In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth; And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will. 2 Timothy 2:25-26 (KJV)

Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel?

And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you, And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty. 2 Corinthians 6:14-18 (KJV)

I’ll give you a personal example of something along these lines…the past few months I’ve experienced some trials in my life.  Now, I would say some of those trials are part of the Lord answering prayer and refining me, but I also think some of those trials were a spiritual attack, so I had been praying for discernment to recognize which was the case.

That being said, a couple of weeks ago, I was up late praying and asking the Lord if there was anything in my home that did not honor Him and was hindering my prayers that needed to be removed, and almost instantly and unexpectedly for the rest of the night and on and off throughout the night, I would wake up with the thought that I needed to get rid of the Harry Potter books in my house.  I kind of blew it off, though, but continued to pray.

You see, it’s been almost 5 years since I’ve read those books, and they were packed away somewhere in our crawl space from when we moved a few years back.  I haven’t looked at them since, but when I woke up the next morning, the feeling that I just had to find those books and get rid of them was really heavy on my heart.

As I prayed that next morning, I threw out all sorts of excuses why I couldn’t go dig them out just yet: I had to pack my daughter’s lunch.  I had to shower and get ready for work, and I just didn’t have the time, but with each excuse, the weight to get rid of them got stronger and stronger until I just stopped making excuses, stopped what I was doing and crawled into the very back of our crawl space, and what do you know?  I moved some boxes around, and the very first box I opened had all 7 Harry Potter books right on top.  So, I grabbed them and ran them out to the trash can since it was garbage day, and within an hour, they were gone.

Now, you’re probably thinking that it sounds extreme to go to that length over some “kids” books, but if you’ve read the books, you will know that while, yes, they are incredibly entertaining and they start out light and fun, they are filled with magic, and they get darker and darker and down right creepy by the end.

I have no doubt that the author J.K. Rowling is into some pretty demonic stuff to come up with the entire story line.  If you think I’m crazy, just remember that the Bible specifically says that our battle is not against flesh and blood, but it is against these demonic forces of evil, so we need to be very careful about what we allow into our minds and into our homes, and as you can see, I include myself in that statement.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Ephesians 6:12 (KJV)

And you know what?  When those books were removed from my home, it was like an incredible weight was lifted off my spirit.

Sorry, that was another tangent.  Stay with me, though.

Okay, then, so we recognize that we are living in the day and age of the Laodicean Church, and the lukewarmness is all-encompassing, and that is an incredibly disheartening truth.

So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth. Revelation 3:16 (KJV)

I recently had a very dear and truly sweet Christian friend text me the other day to the effect of…”I know you are passionate, but…” in referring to my faith in response to a question I posed to her on a certain event she was attending.  Of course, there’s more to the context of that conversation, but I want to tread lightly here.

My point is that I was so sad about the statement: “I know you’re passionate, but…” because I thought to myself, “Yeah, I am passionate.  Why aren’t you?  You’re just as much bought by the blood as I am.  Shouldn’t we all be passionate?”

I mean, yeah, I’m SOLDOUT to JESUS.  Is that so far-fetched for a Christian?  Why is it that I feel a little sheepish for being passionate about my faith when talking to another sister in Christ and one of my very dearest friends?  That confuses me.  I should not have to hesitate in showing my passion for the Lord, especially amongst other believers.  The truth is that I thank God every day for saving me!

My goodness, Jesus Christ, the God and Creator of heaven and earth Himself, came down to this wretched world and paid the cost by HIS PERFECT, UNDEFILED BLOOD for my wretched sin, and all I had to do was accept that free gift, and in return, I get to spend eternity in the most unimaginably glorious place in the very presence of God Himself, again…forever and ever and ever.  That’s amazing!

AND, billions upon billions of years from now, I will still be praising Jesus for that gift! I’ll still be on my knees thanking Jesus as I think back on that teeny window of life on earth where I was given the choice, and I said, “Yes, Lord, I will follow you.”  So, yeah, I’m kind of passionate about Him!  God is good!

Did you know that when Adam and Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden, God turned this world over to Satan?  It’s because of sin and a choice to listen to the serpant rather than God, that God has given man over to the sin that he desired.  God has turned this world over to Satan for an allotted time as a result of sin, but praise God for the blood of Jesus that redeems us of that sin!

Ever wondered why those who don’t believe in Christ just can’t understand the gospel message? It’s as if they’re blind to it and are held captive to unbelief.  Well, that’s exactly what the Bible says that Satan has done to them.  It’s because Satan or “the god of this world” has literally blinded their mind to it.

In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. 2 Corinthians 4:4 (KJV)

BUT, can I let you in on some powerful news?

Jesus Christ, the Son of God himself, came to this world to give sight to the blind and to set the captives free from the clutches of Satan!  He has come to BREAK THE CHAINS of your bondage, beloved!

How do we get those who are lost to see the Gospel for what it really is?

By PRAYER and through sharing God’s promises in His Word, we open the door for the Holy Spirit to do His work!

Jesus spoke of himself saying:

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised. Luke 4:18 (KJV)

He came to 1.) Preach the gospel to the poor, 2.) Heal the brokenhearted (If you’re reading from the corrupt NIV, you’ll notice that Christ’s promise to heal the brokenhearted has been removed.  Satan loves keeping you from the truth of God’s promises, btw.), 3.) Preach deliverance to the captives, 4.) Give sight to the blind – not just physical, but more so to give spiritual sight to the spiritually blind, 5.) Set at liberty them that are bruised.

Dear friends, I pray that if any of you are lost or are a prodigal, that the Lord would TODAY remove the blindness from your heart and set you free from your captivity, that sight would replace your blindness and healing would come to your bruises and brokenheart.

May you and I be open to that BLESSED process of refining as the Lord reveals areas of sin to be repented of and hindrances to our course of which to be purged.  May you and I be given a new hope in Jesus Christ, a new passion to live for him and a new purpose in surrendering the things of this world for the high calling He has placed upon our lives.  May He pour out His Holy Spirit upon us!

Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you. Nevertheless, whereto we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing. Philippians 3:12-16 (KJV)

Be forewarned, my friends, the road is not easy and the scoffers are plenty, but the reward from our Lord and Savior is so great and so beyond imagination, and most importantly it is eternal. Take heart and stand firm!

Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts, and saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation. 2 Peter 3:3-4 (KJV)

How long, ye simple ones, will ye love simplicity? and the scorners delight in their scorning, and fools hate knowledge? Turn you at my reproof: behold, I will pour out my spirit unto you, I will make known my words unto you. Proverbs 1:22-23 (KJV)

For the whole creation hopes for and expects the revelation of the sons of God… For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now; And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body. Romans 8:19;22-23 (KJV).

God bless you all!

In Christ,

And the brethren immediately sent away Paul and Silas by night unto Berea: who coming thither went into the synagogue of the Jews. These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so. Acts 17:10-11 (KJV)

Editor’s Note: As with all teachings you encounter in matters of spiritual things, including the posts you read here, I urge you with all diligence to test everything you read under the light and authority of God’s Holy Word…the King James Bible.  Open your Bible and follow along, and see for yourself what God’s Word has to say.  While I strive to be thoughtful, careful and ultimately prayerful about what I share on this site, I am still human, so should there ever be anything that isn’t in line with the Bible (which I pray doesn’t happen), then God’s Word is always right, and I am wrong.  God’s Word is the final authority in all things.

Leave a Reply

