A Girly Picture Makeover

IMG_3562-blog

It’s been a while since I’ve posted any of my projects here as my focus on the blog has completely shifted.  However, at my mom’s request (I love you, Mom!), I am sharing a fun up-cycle or remake project that I recently completed for a friend.

From time to time, I still get asked to share these projects, so for those of you who are crafty like me, this one is for you!

Soooo, I was asked by a friend to create a picture of sorts with the saying: “Let her sleep for when she wakes she will move mountains” on it (which is a fairly popular saying these days for little girl’s artwork, so it’s one that I love and am well familiar with) for her daughters’ shared bedroom.  She told me that the colors in their bedroom were teal, purple and gray, and she told me to surprise her with the design.

I wasn’t quite sure where to go with it at first; however, I did find a fantastic large frame from Goodwill, about 2’W x 3’H, so I purchased it for $15, took it home, started deconstructing the frame, and began painting away…

IMG_3498-blog

First, I spray painted the frame white.  Next, I painted over the old, faded sailing print.

blog2

Then, I cleaned up the painting lines and added a few more little details like the soft pink dot swirls to give it a whimsical feel along with the row of little flowers at the base of the mountains to add an extra element of “girly”.

IMG_3510-blog

Next, the part that took the most time…I scribbled out some whimsical letters and then cut them out by hand on a nice, sparkly, gold card stock.  Then, I glued them on top of the new painting.  (Please excuse the terrible pics)

IMG_3549-blog

And, finally, I put the glass back in, which made it hard to take a photo without a reflection.  However, it looks pretty neat in person. All in all, it probably took me about 20 hours to complete, but I think the little details are worth it.

It’s hard to capture the sparkle of the gold letters in a photo, but when the sun shines on it, it’s really quite lovely.  I hope my friend and her two girls love this addition to their home!

1-blog

And there you have it!

To Christ be the glory in all things great and small!

Project Date: March 8, 2016

2 thoughts on “A Girly Picture Makeover

  1. curiousclare says:

    Just gorgeous!!! I love it. I’ve been away from blogging for a year & a half!! Pretty much since I had Cruz. Motherhood really shifted my focus that’s for sure. Nice to pop in and catch up again on your lovely blog xxx

    • Nikki says:

      Clare!!! Thanks so much for stopping by! Motherhood has a way of shaking up our priorities. You’re a wonderful momma. Blessings to you, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

